The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) honors eight new industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety (IH/OEHS) professionals with the Fellows designation.

"We're extremely proud of this year's Fellows," said Larry Sloan, CAE and AIHA CEO. "They have each made tremendous contribution to the community of IH/OHs, and we're confident they will continue to help improve workplace health and safety."

Fellows are nominated by a local section, a special interest group, a committee, or their peers for their achievements in the field of industrial hygiene. The designation is limited to no more than five percent of the membership. Nominees are selected by AIHA's Awards and Fellows Nominating Committee.

The chair of this year's nominating committee, Cynthia Ostrowski, MS, CIH, FAIHA, remarked that "it was a privilege to read and review all of the fellow nominations from the AIHA community." After adding that the selection process was difficult due to the high quality of the nominees, she continued, "We are very excited to recognize the extraordinary contributions of these eight distinguished AIHA Fellows, as well as the overall effort and time put forth by all nominators, nominees, and the nominating committee."

The nominating committee chair is the current AIHA past president, a Board member. The AIHA past-past president and four representatives of the general membership, selected by the chair, comprise the remaining five nominating committee members. The members include retired, late-, mid- and early-career professionals; four fellows; active volunteer group members; and active local section members. They represent academia, the government, industry, and consulting. The AIHA CEO and AIHA's President also participate in the final discussions by the committee to ensure objectivity and fairness.

The AIHA Board is pleased to announce the AIHA Awards and Fellows Nominating Committee selections:

Stephanie R. Carter, MSPH, PhD, CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Gary W. Bangs, CIH, RN on behalf of the AIHA Pacific Northwest Local Section.

William S. Carter, PhD, CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Marianne Levitsky, MES, CIH, ROH, FAIHA.

Jeffrey A. Church, CIH, CSP, REHS/RS, FAIHA; nominated by Lawrence G. Wylie, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA on behalf of the AIHA Toxicology Committee.

Joy Erdman, MS, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Celia Booth, CIH, CSP.

Thomas P. Fuller, ScD, CIH, CSP, MSPH, MBA, FAIHA; nominated by Steven M. Thygerson, PhD, CIH.

Ling-Ling Hung, PhD, FAIHA; nominated by Stephen Derman, CIH, FAIHA on behalf of the AIHA Biosafety and Environmental Microbiology Committee.

Georgi I. Popov, PhD, QEP, CSP, ARM, SMS, CMC, FAIHA; Nominated by Mary Kay Snow, CIH, CSP.

Noah Seixas, PhD, CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Donald J. Garvey, CIH, CSP, CHMM, FAIHA on behalf of the AIHA Construction Committee.


About AIHA

Founded in 1939, AIHA is a nonprofit organization serving professionals dedicated to the anticipation, recognition, evaluation, control, and confirmation of environmental stressors in or arising from the workplace that may result in injury, illness, or impairment, or affect the well-being of workers and members of the community. AIHA provides comprehensive education programs and other products and services that help its members maintain the highest professional standards.

More than half of AIHA's nearly 8,500 members are Certified Industrial Hygienists, and many hold other professional designations. AIHA serves as a resource for those employed in the industrial, consulting, academic, and government sectors.