OSHA will push ahead with a negotiated rulemaking process to update its cranes and derricks standard in response to broad industry support, OSHA chief John Henshaw announced.

The agency is publishing a proposed list of members to serve on the Crane and Derrick Negotiated Rulemaking Advisory Committee. Through negotiation, the committee will develop proposed revisions of existing construction safety standards for the cranes and derricks. The public can submit comments on the proposed list of members.

After evaluating comments on the proposed list of committee members, OSHA will then publish a final list, announce the establishment of the committee, and schedule the first committee meeting, which is expected in late Spring.

Notice of OSHA's proposed list of committee members is scheduled to appear in the February 27, 2003, Federal Register and on OSHA's Web site under Federal Register Notices.

Written comments on the proposed committee may be submitted by March 31, 2003, to the OSHA Docket Office, Docket No. S-030, U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW, Room N-2625, Washington, DC 20210.

Here is the proposed committee lineup:

Manufacturers and suppliers: Michael Brunet, Manitowoc Cranes, Inc.; Peter Juhren, Morrow Equipment Company, L.L.C.; Larry Means, Wire Rope Technical Board

Lessors/Maintenance: William Smith, Maxim Crane Works

Users-Employers: Joseph Collins, Zachry Construction Corporation; Brian Murphy, Sundt Corporation; George R. "Chip" Pocock, C.P. Buckner Steel Erection; Craig Steele, Schuck & Sons Construction Company, Inc.; Darlaine Taylor, Century Steel Erectors, Inc.; William J. "Doc" Weaver; Robert Weiss, Cranes, Inc. and A.J. McNulty & Company, Inc.; Stephen Wiltshire, Shirley Contracting Corporation

Users - Labor Organizations: Frank Migliaccio, International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers; Dale Shoemaker, Carpenters International Training Center

Operators - Labor Organizations: Stephen Brown, International Union of Operating Engineers; Emmett Russell, International Union of Operating Engineers

Government/public entities: Noah Connell, U.S. Department of Labor/OSHA

Training and operator testing: David Ritchie, The St. Paul Companies

Power line Owners: Michael Hyland, American Public Power Association

Insurance: Charles Yorio, Acordia