The American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH) has named its new Board of Directors that will take office in March 2009. ABIH is the certifying organization for Certified Industrial Hygienists (CIHs).

The Board Chair is Scott E. Merkle, CIH, Chief, Health and Safety Branch at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, who was re-elected to serve a second one-year term in this role.

Two new Board members elected to serve include:

Janet Keyes, CIH, a Principal in CHESS, Inc., a safety and health consulting firm.

Lydia Renton, CIH, ROH, a Senior Partner/Owner of WESA, Inc., an occupational hygiene, hydrogeological and engineering consulting firm in Ontario, Canada.

Each will serve a four-year term. The eight members continuing in their current roles as directors include:

Eric Bauer, CIH, of Terex Corporation Janice Camp, CIH, COHN-S, of the University of Washington John Henshaw, CIH, of Henshaw and Associates, Inc. Nancy McClellan, CIH, CHMM, of Business Health Systems J. Torey Nalbone, PhD, CIH, of the University of Texas at Tyler Lawrence P. Postol of Seyfarth Shaw LLP Jeff V. Throckmorton, CIH, of the University of Utah in Salt Lake, Utah and Health & Safety Services Mario Vasquez, CIH, of Flint Hills Resources