The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) announced the recipients of the 2018 AIHA Named Awards, which honor individuals who provide significant contributions to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety professions. The award recipients will be recognized on Wednesday during the Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast at AIHce EXP.

The following are the 2018 AIHA Named Award recipients: Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award: Shawn G. Gibbs, Ph.D., MBA, CIH; Elizabeth L. Beam, Ph.D., RN; Aurora B. Le, MPH, CPH; Jocelyn Herstein, MPH; Katelyn Jelden, MPH; John-Martin J. Lowe, Ph.D.; nominated by Shawn G. Gibbs.

Sponsored by Bureau Veritas North America, Inc., the Baier Award is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, innovations or scientific advancements.

Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award: Mark Stenzel, Ph.D., CIH; nominated by Susan Arnold, Ph.D., CIH, and Gurumurthy Ramachandran, Ph.D., CIH.
The Cummings Award is bestowed on an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene and who has been acknowledged for his or her contributions outside of the field (for example, in environmental health and safety, occupational health, public health or business). The recipient presents the Cummings Memorial lecture at AIHce EXP.

Kusnetz Award: Srinivas Durgam, Ph.D., CIH; nominated by James Couch, Ph.D., CIH, CSP, REHS/RS, and Diana Harrington Peroni, CIH.                      
Sponsored by Howard and Florence Kusnetz, the Kusnetz Award honors an industrial hygienist under the age of 40 who is currently employed in the private sector and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession.

Alice Hamilton Award: Margaret Quinn, Sc.D., CIH; nominated by Robert F. Herrick, Sc.D., CIH.
The Alice Hamilton Award is presented to an outstanding woman who has been engaged in IH/OH for at least 10 years and is dedicated to public and community service, social reform and technological innovation.

Distinguished Service Award: Allan K. Fleeger, Ph.D., CIH, CSP; nominated by Elizabeth Pullen, CIH, FAIHA.The Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has advanced industrial hygiene through unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA, proven leadership in the IH profession, influence on public policy or social reform, or public and community service.

Social Responsibility Award: Renae Goldman, CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Jennifer Dimitri, CIH.
Sponsored by Bureau Veritas North America Inc., the Social Responsibility Award is presented to an individual, entity, group or organization that works inside organizations to develop and promote practical solutions to social responsibility issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety issues.

Henry J. Smyth Jr. Award: Cheryl L. Marcham, Ph.D., CIH, CSP, CHMM, FAIHA; nominated by Elizabeth Pullen, CIH, FAIHA.
The Smyth Award is presented to an individual who has recognized the needs of the industrial hygiene profession and has made major contributions to fulfill those needs, thereby contributing to the improvement of public welfare. The recipient presents the Smyth Award lecture at AIHce EXP.

Yant Award: Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Ph.D., CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Lydia Renton, B.S., CIH, ROH, FAIHA.
Sponsored by the Mine Safety Appliances Company, the Yant Award is presented for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields to an individual residing outside the United States. These contributions can include academic research, teaching, professional practice, solving major industrial hygiene issues, or service to professional societies or international stature.