Six awards were handed out at an event held in Aberdeen (Scotland) Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC).

Organized by Oil and Gas UK and Step Change in Safety and sponsored by French oil giant Total, the event honored WorleyParsons’ James Ellerton the award for safety leadership, while William Davidson from Nexen won safety representative of the year.

Rig cooling firm RigDeluge received the innovation award. The Theddlethorpe Gas Terminal team at ConocoPhillips received a workforce engagement gong for achieving 10 years of operations without a single recordable injury .

BP won the award for operational integrity, while the sharing and learning award was given to Alan Dickson and Fiona Fleming, from the company’s health team.

Matt Abraham, health, safety and environment and supply chain director with Oil and Gas UK, said: “Every year this event highlights why a relentless focus on safety makes such a crucial difference to our sector. As an industry we have a passion for safety and continually seek to build and expand our safety knowledge and expertise.

“The Offshore Safety Awards provides a key opportunity for motivated people to share their innovative ideas and have positive, constructive conversations, all of which help ensure that the UKCS remains one of the safest provinces to do business in the global oil and gas industry.”

Les Linklater, executive director of Step Change in Safety, added: “This event offers a great opportunity to drive forward conversations around safety. Although it’s important to recognize the contribution our winners have made to improving safety in our industry, its equally important we take the ideas generated today and make them part of how we work day to day, ensuring conversations around safety remain an informative and engaging exercise.”