SMG announces 2012 award winnersThe National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) has announced the winners of its 2015 NECA Safety Award Program, which recognizes companies that excel in multiple areas of their safety and health programs.

“Awards are given to member companies that consistently have OSHA recordable injury and fatality rates at levels lower than the industry standard, and implement internal company safety practices above and beyond basic compliance,” according to the NECA.

The Zero-Injury Award recognizes those member-companies that have worked a full calendar year without recordable incidents. 

The Safety Excellence Award selects winners based on their comparison to Bureau of Labor Statistics’ data and electrical contractors. This award considers five man-hour categories:

  • 1 to 25,000 man-hours
  • 25,001 to 50,000 man-hours
  • 50,001 to 100,000 man-hours
  • 100,001 to 150,000  man hours
  • over 150,001 man-hours

"Achieving a Safety Excellence Award or Zero Injury Award is not only important for their businesses; it is most important for their employees and their employees' families,” said Michael Johnston (Executive Director, Standards and Safety). “Winners meet their greatest responsibility — to their people's safety — and so they deserve praise for that, as well."

In recognition of National Electrical Safety Month, winners will be named in the May issue of ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR magazine.

Click here for the 2015 NECA Safety Awards winners list»