ACGIH® is pleased to announce new members for its 2017 Board of Directors and its 2017 Nominating Committee.

In accordance with a 2013 amendment to the ACGIH® Bylaws, ACGIH®’s membership elected three (3) members to serve as Directors on the Board of Directors. They are: 

Michael J. Ellenbecker, ScD, CIH. Dr. Ellenbecker is Professor Emeritus of Environmental and Occupational Hygiene and Director of the Massachusetts Toxics Use Reduction Institute (TURI) at the University of Massachusetts Lowell. From 1981 to 2014, first at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) and then at UMass Lowell, he has taught graduate students and performed research in occupational hygiene. His research has focused on aerosol science and the control of airborne contaminants. He has published more than 80 articles in the peer-reviewed literature and is co-author of two textbooks, Ventilation for Control of the Work Environment and Exposure Assessment and Safety Considerations for Working with Engineered Nanoparticles, both published by Wiley. Dr. Ellenbecker was the 2015 recipient of the AIHA Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award. Dr. Ellenbecker will serve a three year term.

Chandra Deeds Gioiello, MS, CIH. Ms. Gioiello is a registered Safety Data Sheet and Label Author and a Certified Industrial Hygienist, specializing in international hazard communication. Her main areas of focus are SDS and label authoring and international chemical control laws. She helps clients navigate regulations across the globe to ensure the proper communication of chemical hazards to all workers worldwide. Ms. Gioiello is highly active with the Society of Chemical Hazard Communication (SCHC) as a member, a course instructor, and as the chairperson of the Social Media Committee. She is active with the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA), serving as the chairperson of the Communications and Training Methods Committee, and on the Mentorship Committee. She is the president-elect of the Connecticut River Valley chapter of AIHA (CRV-AIHA), where she previously served as Secretary for three years. She helped create the SDS and Label Author registry for AIHA and is a member of the subject matter expert team. Ms. Gioiello will serve a three year term.

Alan Rossner, PhD, CIH. Dr. Rossner is Director of Environmental Health Science and Environmental Science & Policy undergraduate programs at Clarkson University, and is Associate Director of Clarkson’s Institute for a Sustainable Environment.  His teaching and research interests are in human exposure to hazardous chemicals and agents. At Clarkson, Dr. Rossner has directed his research in areas that minimize people’s exposure to contaminants, improve working conditions, improve living conditions and minimize risk of disease. His current research projects involve:  1) Development of air sampling methodologies, 2) Exposure assessment strategies for occupational and environmental air sampling, and 3) Indoor/outdoor air contaminant monitoring. Dr. Rossner has served as Chair of the AIHA Risk Assessment Committee and taught in a variety of PDCs over the last decade. He is board certified in the Comprehensive Practice of Industrial Hygiene by the American Board of Industrial Hygiene and is an AIHA Fellow. Dr. Rossner was elected in 2014 to a three-year term on the Board and was reelected to serve an additional three year term.

The 2017 ACGIH® Nominating Committee includes three elected members who will serve a one-year term. They are:

Thomas J. Armstrong, PhD, CIH. Dr. Armstrong is a Professor in the Industrial and Operations Engineering and Biomedical Engineering Departments at the University of Michigan’s College of Engineering. His work over the last 35+ years at the University of Michigan has contributed to attempts by OSHA and ANSI to develop ergonomics standards, and to development of the first ACGIH® Ergonomics TLVs®.     

Mary O’Reilly, PhD, CIH, CPE. Dr. O’Reilly is an adjunct professor at the University at Albany School of Public Health and at Empire State College where she teaches Environmental Sustainability in the business program. She is president of ARLS Consultants, Inc., of Workplace Health Without Borders-US (WHWB-US), and serves on the Board of the Institute for Health and the Environment in Albany and WHWB-International in Canada.

Barbara Dawson, MS, CIH, FAIHA, CSP. Ms. Dawson is currently employed by the DuPont Company and has also worked as an industrial hygienist at SmithKline Beckman (now GlaxoSmithKline) and Rohm and Haas (now Dow). She has over 35 years of experience in comprehensive industrial hygiene practice.

These three elected members will be joined by the three Board Members whose terms expire in 2016 – Nancy George, MPH, CIH, CSP; John Morawetz, ScM; and Alan Rossner, PhD, CIH  – to make up the six member 2017 Nominating Committee.

ACGIH® is a 501(c)(3) charitable scientific organization that advances occupational and environmental health. ACGIH® is one of the industry’s leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®.  For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.