ACGIHACGIH® is pleased to announce new members for its 2015 Board of Directors and its 2015 Nominating Committee.

In accordance with a 2013 amendment to the ACGIH® Bylaws, ACGIH®’s membership elected three (3) members to serve as Directors on the Board of Directors. They are: 

George Gruetzmacher, PhD, CIH, CSP, PE. Dr. Gruetzmacher is an environmental engineer in the Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene, which is affiliated with the University of Wisconsin Madison.  For over 40 years, he has combined engineering, human factors (ergonomics) and industrial hygiene field practice, teaching, research and management to identify and control potential hazards in workplaces mostly throughout Wisconsin. For the last 38 years, he has been an active field industrial hygienist with the OSHA-funded onsite consultation program in Wisconsin (WisCon). Dr. Gruetzmacher will serve a three year term.

Sheryl Milz, PhD, CIH. Dr. Milz is the Chair and an Associate Professor in the Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine (DPHPM) in the College of Medicine and Life Sciences at the University of Toledo. DPHPM offers an ABET-ASAC accredited Master of Science in Occupational Health (MSOH) degree – Industrial Hygiene program with 17 current students. Dr. Milz is also a Co-Director of the Northwest Ohio Consortium for Public Health (NOCPH). NOCPH is a consortium of Bowling Green State University and the University of Toledo and offers a CEPH-accredited MPH degree. Dr. Milz will serve a three year term.

Susan Arnold, MSOH, CIH. Ms. Arnold is Principal at EH&S, LLC, where she specializes in developing and applying leading practices in exposure and risk assessment. After a brief career as a forensic toxicologist, Ms. Arnold shifted her focus to occupational hygiene and has practiced nationally and internationally for the past 22 years. In addition to consulting for chemical manufacturing and formulating, specialty chemical, healthcare, pharmaceutical, metals and mining industry clients, she has worked in product safety and as a corporate occupational hygienist supporting specialty chemical and medical device products facilities. Ms. Arnold was elected in 2013 to a two-year term on the Board and was reelected to serve an additional three year term.

The 2015 ACGIH® Nominating Committee includes three elected members who will serve a one-year term. They are:

Eric J. Esswein, MSPH, CIH, CIAQP. Mr. Esswein is a Commissioned Officer in the U.S. Public Health Service assigned to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), where he holds the rank of Captain (O-6).  

Sarah Locke, MSPH, MS, CIH. Ms. Locke has been a staff researcher in exposure assessment for the Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch of the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) in Maryland since 2010.

James H. Lucas, Jr., PhD, CIH, CSP. Dr. Lucas is a Global Director, Corporate EH&S for Integra LifeSciences Corporation and has extensive years of professional/expert EH&S experience at both technical and management levels in academia, commercial laboratory, government, and private industries’ environments.

These three elected members will be joined by the three Board Members whose terms expired in 2014 – Robert F. Herrick, ScD, CIH, MS, James H. Stewart, PhD, CIH, CSP, and Susan Arnold, MSOH, CIH  – to make up the six member 2015 Nominating Committee.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health.  ACGIH® is one of the industry’s leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®.  For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.