The American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF) passed the baton to its new Board of Trustees at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce EXP) in Seattle, WA. The robust foundation recently awarded a total of $131,800 in scholarships to 51 industrial hygiene students. During AIHce EXP, AIHF hosted the 31st Annual FunRun, in which more than 250 IH/OH professionals and their family members participated. The proceeds of the FunRun help to fund future AIHF scholarships. 

"The Board is happy to announce that after receiving fourteen FunRun sponsorships, revenue is ahead by 45% over 2016 and we are committed to keeping up this momentum," stated Deborah Nelson, PhD, CIH, President of AIHF. "AIHF's mission is to enable talented students to complete their educations in industrial hygiene and related disciplines. They are the future of protecting worker health."

At the conclusion of AIHce EXP, the new AIHF Board of Trustees includes:

  • President - Deborah I. Nelson, PhD, CIH
  • President-Elect - Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH
  • Vice President - Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH
  • Treasurer - J. Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP
  • Secretary - Michael S. Rosenow, CIH, CSP, MPH
  • Member-at-Large - John L. Henshaw, CIH
  • Immediate Past President - Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP

About AIHF

The mission of the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF) is to advance the profession by awarding scholarships for students in industrial hygiene and related disciplines, and funding training/professional development opportunities for industrial hygienists in the first 15 years of their professional careers in industrial hygiene and related disciplines. 

Since 1982, the AIH Foundation has contributed more than $1.8 million toward the education of students studying industrial hygiene and related disciplines.