The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA®) welcomed its new Board of Directors and honored the contributions of Past President Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP, during its annual business meeting at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce EXP) in Seattle, Wash. 

The 2017 AIHA Board of Directors includes:  

  • President- Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH
  • President-elect- Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH
  • Vice President- Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH
  • Past President- Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP
  • Secretary- Michael Rosenow, MPH, CIH, CSP
  • Treasurer- J. Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP
  • Treasurer-elect- Donna S. Heidel, CIH
  • Director- Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP
  • Director- Joselito S. Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS
  • Director- Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH
  • Director- Nancy M. McClellan, CIH, CHMM, MPH
  • Director- Dina Mary Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP 
  • Director- Michele M. Twilley, DrPH, CIH
  • AIHA Chief Executive Officer- Lawrence Sloan, CAE

Anna has been a member of AIHA since 1991 and is a graduate of AIHA's inaugural Future Leaders Institute, a program that provides attendees with the resources necessary to be successful leaders in the profession. He served as AIHA President in 2015-2016 and remains an active AIHA member as the editor of the forthcoming fourth edition of The Occupational Environment: Its Evaluation, Control, and Management, also known as "The White Book." 

Also of note, Past Director Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, completed her term of service with AIHA's leadership. Sahmel has been an active member of AIHA over the course of her career. She is a certified industrial hygienist and a certified safety professional with two decades of experience in human health risk assessment and workplace health and safety. She has won several awards for her dedication to the industrial hygiene field, including the AIHA Outstanding Group Contributor Award in 2013.

"We are grateful to both Dan and Jennifer for their time and commitment to serving AIHA, its members, and the industrial hygiene profession," said Lawrence Sloan, CAE, AIHA's Chief Executive Officer. "In order to protect workers and continue our mission, we need strong Board leadership. I have greatly enjoyed working alongside them and getting to know them."

Committee chair selected

The AIHA also selected Gurumurthy Ramachandran, PhD, CIH, FAIHA as the chair of the International Scientific Committee for the 11th International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA) International Scientific Conference, scheduled for September 24-26, 2018 in Washington D.C. The IOHA conference will take place at the Marriott Marquis hotel in Washington, D.C. The International Scientific Committee will be responsible for shaping the educational content for the conference. Dr. Ramachandran is a professor at the Bloomberg School of Public Health of Johns Hopkins University and was previously a professor at the University of Minnesota. 

"Dr. Ramachandran's distinguished academic background and extensive international experience will provide valuable leadership to this important role," said Mark C. Milroy, CAE, AIHA's Managing Director of Global Education.

About IOHA

The International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA) is an association of occupational and industrial hygiene organizations from around the world. Their mission is to enhance the international network of occupational hygiene associations that promote, develop and improve worker safety worldwide, providing a safe and healthy working environment for all. Since its creation in 1987, IOHA has grown to 32 member organizations, representing over 20,000 occupational hygienists worldwide.  IOHA is a non-government organization, recognized by the International Labour Organization and the World Health Organization. To learn more about the work of IOHA and its membership, visit

About AIHA®

Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA's 8,500 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia. More information is available at