The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) has selected new Board Members and Officers to guide the organization in 2022.

Leslie Stockel, CSP, SMS will serve as Board President; Bruce K. Lyon, CSP, SMS, PE, ARM, CHMM will serve as Vice President; V. Raymond Ferrara, CFP will continue to serve as Treasurer; and Joaquin M. Diaz, MM, CSP, OHST, CHST, CIH will serve as Past President. These individuals will work together to serve our certificants in the upcoming year.

We welcome new Board Members Daniel G. Hopwood, MPH, CSP, SMS, ARM, and Mary Hjorth, SPHR, SHRM-SCP.

About our 2022 President: Leslie Stockel, CSP, SMS is an Assistant Professor of Professional Practice at Oklahoma State University (OSU) in Fire Protection & Safety Engineering Technology, as well as the Instructional Director for the OSU OSHA Education Center.

Stockel has 30 years of experience in the safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) profession, working in education and both public and private sector organizations. She has been a Professional Member of ASSP since 1993, holding numerous chapter and region leadership positions. In 2016, she was named Safety Professional of the Year for the Oklahoma City Chapter, and then Region III Safety Professional of the Year in 2017.

She also serves as the ASSP-OSU student section faculty advisor. Stockel earned a Master of Science in Engineering Technology Management and a Bachelor of Science in Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology from Oklahoma State University. She is currently enrolled as a Ph.D. student at Texas Tech University.

About our 2022 Vice President: Bruce K. Lyon, CSP, SMS, PE, ARM, CHMM is the Vice President and Director of Risk Management Services with Hays Companies. Lyon holds a B.S. degree in Industrial Safety and a degree in Occupational Safety Management/Fire Science from the University of Central Missouri (UCM).

Lyon has over 35 years of experience managing and directing risk services for a wide range of national and global organizations. He is the Advisory Board Chair to UCM's Safety Sciences Program, Vice-Chair of US TAG 262 for ISO 31000, and a member of the ANSI Z590.3 Prevention Through Design review committee. He is the co-author of “Risk Assessment: a Practical Guide to Assessing Operational Risk” and lead author of “Risk Management Tools for Safety Professionals.” Lyon received the CSP Award of Excellence from BCSP in 2018.

BCSP thanks Mario A. Varela, CSP, ASP who concluded his time on the Board in 2021.

The 2022 Board of Directors includes: Teresa A. Cole, CSP; Joaquin M. Diaz, MM, CSP, OHST, CHST, CIH (Past President); V. Raymond Ferrara, CFP (Treasurer); Ashok Garlapati, CSP, FASSP, CFIOSH, QEP; Jay R. Harf, CSP; Mary Hjorth, SPHR, SHRM-SCP; Bruce D. Hollcroft, CSP, ARM, CHMM; Daniel G. Hopwood, MPH, CSP, SMS, ARM; Patricia A. Kagerer, CSP; Bruce K. Lyon, CSP, SMS, CHMM, ARM, PE (Vice President); Regina McMichael, CSP, CIT; Donald A. Robinson, Ph.D., CSP and Leslie Stockel, CSP, SMS (President).