The Maritime Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health will have fifteen new members on board when it meets April 19-20 at Department of Labor headquarters in Washington, D.C.

The newcomers, drawn from government and the private sector, the Coast Guard, the AIHA and unions will help MACOSH with the task of advising OSHA and the Secretary of Labor on issues related to safe and healthy work conditions among maritime workers.

The committee was formed in 1995 because of the maritime industry’s high injury and illness rates and the specialized nature of some occupations within it.

MACOSH also provides a voice for stakeholders to express their concerns and suggestions for shipyard worker safety directly to OSHA's leadership. The committee members newly appointed by Secretary of Labor Hilda are:

James R. Thornton, American Industrial Hygiene Association
Phillip Dovinh, Sound Testing Inc.
Kenneth A. Smith, U.S. Coast Guard
Charles R. Lemon, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
Cheryl Fairfield Estill, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health
Christopher John McMahon, U.S. Department of Transportation Maritime Administration
Kelly Garber, APL Limited
Donald V. Raffo, General Dynamics
Arthur T. Ross, Texas Terminals L.P
Karen Conrad, North Pacific Fishing Vessel Owners Association
Michael J. Flynn, International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers
Tim J. Podue, International Longshore & Warehouse Union
George S. Lynch Jr., International Longshoremen's Association
Lesley E. Johnson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local #733
Robert Godinez, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers-Iron Ship Builders