Warren K. Brown, CSP, ARM, CSHM, has been awarded the American Society of Safety Engineers’ Fellow Honor for 2011. The Fellow Honor is the Society's most prestigious honor, recognizing a lifetime of commitment to worker safety and health. Each Fellow recipient has had a wealth of unique personal and professional achievements in the occupational safety and health profession. They are leaders in the occupational safety and health community. To become a Fellow, a nominee must be uniquely qualified, be nominated by a petition coordinator, and have at least six sponsors who will contribute to the petition.

Mr. Brown retired after 43 years at General Motors, Delphi and DMAX in plant engineering and safety.

Co-founder of the ASSE Kittyhawk Chapter, Mr. Brown was selected "Safety Professional of the Year" by the ASSE All Ohio Council (1987) and ASSE Region VII (1988-89). He was an ASSE Board member for 15 years as ASSE Region VII vice president 1989 - 1993 and 1997 – 2001 and as vice president of Professional Development 2001-05. He received the ASSE Culbertson Award in 2006. He was ASSE Senior Vice President, President-elect and ended as ASSE President in 2008-09.

Mr. Brown has been a National Safety Council volunteer for more than 30 years in the Business and Industry Division and he received the NSC’s "Distinguished Service to Safety" award in 1992. He was on the Society of Ohio Safety Engineers’ Pattern for Progress Committee, Past President - Ohio Valley Section of American Industrial Hygiene Association and past chairperson of the National AIHA Confined Space Committee. He served on the Sinclair Community College Safety program advisory committee for 20 years and continues on the Board of Directors of the Dayton Miami Valley Safety Council, and was chairman in 1980-81.

Mr. Brown holds a BS in Industrial Technology from Ohio University, MBA from the University of Dayton and an ARM from the Insurance Institute of America. In 1988, he was named a General Motors "Safety Fellow", the highest General Motors individual safety award.