SMG announces 2012 award winnersThe American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) has announced its 2013 Award recipients.

The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award recipient is Norman W. Henry, III, CIH. A member of AIHA for more than three decades, Henry is one of the leading technical experts on chemical protective clothing. Since his retirement from DuPont after 37 years, Henry continues to operate his own industrial hygiene consulting company and teaches at the Delaware Technical School and Community College. This award is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years.

The Distinguished Service Award goes to S. Z. Mansdorf, PhD, CIH, CSP, QEP. Dr. Mansdorf has had a distinguished career in industrial hygiene with a record of service. His professional career is unique, having served his country as an Army Bioenvironmental Engineer in Seoul, Korea; educated students as an adjunct associate professor on the Cleveland State faculty; started his own business that provided industrial hygiene service to clients; and worked for a multi-national company in Paris as the senior vice president of Safety, Health and Environment.

The Kusnetz Award recipient is Melissa Ling Cheszek, CIH, CEM, LEED-AP. In addition to her role in founding the Green Building Working Group, Cheszek has been involved in the Strategic Advisory Board for the AIHA Registry Programs. Her service to and passion for the profession is enormous, and her contagious enthusiasm motivates people to work together to protect and enhance the health, safety, comfort and productivity of workers. Ling is skilled in developing and presenting high-impact training programs to a wide range of audiences. The Kusnetz Award honors a certified hygienist under the age of 40 who shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession.

The Yant Award, an individual residing outside the United States who makes outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene, goes to Jukka Takala, BSc, MSc. Dr. Takala is adjunct professor at the Tampere University of Technology in Finland and the Secretary General of the International Panel for Working Life. He has served the European Union as the Director of the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work, executive director of the Workplace Safety and Health Institute in Singapore and recently agreed to serve on the Advisory Council for the Center for Safety and Health Sustainability.

The winner of the President’s Award -- presented to an individual, task force, special interest group, or local section for outstanding contributions to efforts to achieve the mission of the AIHA – will be announced at AIHce 2013.