EHS NewsmakersThe National Safety Council recently recognized four individuals with the highest honor it bestows on safety professionals. The Distinguished Service to Safety Awards are presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of outstanding service to the field of safety and health through their careers.

This year’s four recipients were recognized at the Opening Session of the NSC Congress & Expo.

“These individuals are living out the Journey to Safety Excellence philosophy in the organizations in which they work, and are helping to save lives and prevent injuries,” said Janet Froetscher, National Safety Council president and CEO. “These DSSA recipients have laid the foundation for the future of safety and we are indebted to them for their lifetime dedication to safety and health.”

Receiving this year’s Distinguished Service to Safety Award are:

Teresa Cole, CSP, CSHM
Senior Region Safety Manager, First Student
Recognized for outstanding efforts within the Transportation Division

David Lee Jewell, CSP
Safety & Health Manager
Assisted Living Concepts
Recognized for outstanding efforts within the Business & Industry Division

Carl Jorgensen
Material Handler, Alcoa Davenport Works
Accident Investigator, United Steelworkers Local 105
Recognized for outstanding efforts within the Labor Division

George Kennedy, CSP
Vice President of Safety, National Utility Contractors Association
Recognized for outstanding efforts within the Construction Division