AIHAThe American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) has announced the results of its 2014 - 2015 election for the AIHA Board of Directors. The new board members will be inducted at AIHA’s annual business meeting on Thursday, June 5, during the 2014 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) in San Antonio. 

The results of the AIHA election are as follows:

Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP, was elected as AIHA’s new vice president. Lacey has been serving on the Board of Directors since 2008. He was elected treasurer-elect in 2011 and has served as treasurer since June 2012. He has been a member of AIHA since 2003 and is associate professor and chair of the Department of Environmental Health Science at the Indiana University Fairbanks School of Public Health in Indianapolis, Ind. 

Kathleen Murphy, CIH, was elected secretary-elect. She has served on the Board of Directors since 2011 and has been a member of AIHA since 1998. She is global director of regulatory affairs for Sherwin Williams in Cleveland, Ohio.

Donna Heidel, CIH, was elected as an AIHA director. She has been a member of AIHA since 1989 and is senior industrial hygiene manager at Bureau Veritas North America, Inc. in Edison, N.J. 

?Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, was elected as an AIHA director. She has been a member of AIHA since 1997 and is senior managing health scientist at Cardno ChemRisk in Boulder, Colo. 

“We are pleased to welcome new leaders of the industrial hygiene profession to AIHA's Board of Directors and retain others so they may continue their important service," said AIHA President Barbara J. Dawson, CIH, CSP. "We are confident that all newly elected officers and directors will do great things during their tenure. Together with the valuable insight and experience of the remaining Board members, AIHA will continue its efforts in protecting worker health.”

AIHA’s Board of Directors for 2014 - 2015 include the following officers:

  • President: Christine A.D. Lorenzo, CIH
  • President-elect: Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP
  • Vice President: Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP
  • Past President: Barbara J. Dawson, CIH, CSP
  • Secretary: Charles F. Redinger, PhD, CIH
  • Secretary-elect: Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH
  • Treasurer: Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH
  • Executive Director: Peter J. O’Neil, CAE

The following members will serve as AIHA Directors for 2014–2015:

  • Michael B. Amster, CIH, CSP, CHMM, PE
  • Joseph Barry Graffeo, CIH
  • Donna S. Heidel, CIH
  • Chris Laszcz-Davis, MS, CIH
  • Michael Rosenow, CIH, CSP
  • Jennifer Sahmel, CIH, CSP