The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) is proud to announce the 2018 recipients of the organization's most prestigious awards. The recipients, Lawrence Oldendorf, P.E., CSP (Retired); Joshua Caudill, CSP, ASP, CHST; Michelle Keever, SMS, STSC; Bruce Lyon, P.E., CSP; and Jose Perez, SMS, OHST CHST, STSC, CET received their awards June 6, 2018, during a luncheon ceremony at the American Society of Safety Professional's (ASSP) Safety 2018 conference in San Antonio, Texas.

There were many submissions sent to the BCSP Awards Committee from a multitude of exceptional safety practitioners. After deliberating, the BCSP Board of Directors' Awards Committee selected five exemplary certificants. Lawrence Oldendorf received the BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award. Bruce Lyon received the CSP Award of Excellence, Jose Perez received the OHST Award of Excellence, Joshua Caudill received the CHST Award of Excellence, and Michelle Keever received the STSC Award of Excellence.

BCSP is proud of the work of its certificants and enjoys joining with colleagues in sharing appreciation of outstanding safety professionalism by honoring these certificants' leadership, knowledgeable expertise, and commitment to the advancement of safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) practice.

Upon receiving his award, Oldendorf thanked his mentors and spoke to the future of the profession. "Receiving notification that I was nominated for this award was an unexpected and joyous surprise," he said. "Our professional contributions continue to impact lives globally. We have been accepted as essential advisors to managers of major companies. The body of safety knowledge is growing every day.... Thank you for your service and contributions to the safety profession.  May your future endeavors be successful both professionally and off-the-job."

Each of the award recipients contributed a great deal to the safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) profession. We thank all who submitted nominations and encourage future submissions.

Photos and Biographies: 

The 2018 Award of Excellence Recipients

The 2018 BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP), headquartered in Indianapolis, Indiana, is a not-for-profit corporation recognized as a leader in high-quality, accredited credentialing for safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) practitioners. BCSP establishes standards and certifies competency criteria in professional safety practice. Since 1969, over 68,000 of BCSP's CSP, SMS, ASP, OHST, CHST, STS, STSC, or CET certifications have been achieved.