The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) is honoring 12 new industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental heal and safety (IH//OEHS) professionals with the Fellows designation. These individuals have been nominated by their peers and recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the industrial hygiene profession. The new distinguished Fellows will be honored during the annual Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast on Wednesday, May 22, at the 2019 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

"Congratulations to this year's Fellows. By achieving this designation, you have earned the utmost respect from your peers," said Lawrence Sloan, AIHA CEO. "Thank you for your contributions to advancing the science of occupational health and safety, and for investing time in ensuring AIHA remains a thriving, sustainable organization for years to come."

Fellows are nominated by a Local Section, special interest group, committee or other formal AIHA entity for their achievement in the field of industrial hygiene. Individuals are reviewed and selected by the AIHA Awards Committee and approved by the AIHA Board of Directors. The Fellow designation is limited to no more than 5 percent of the membership.

The new 2019 AIHA Fellows are:

Finis L. Cavender, Ph.D., DABT, FAIHA; nominated by George M. Rusch, Ph.D., DABT, ATS, ERT, FAIHA, on behalf of the Emergency Response Planning Committee. 

Kermit G. Davis III, Ph.D., FAIHA; nominated by Sean Gallagher, Ph.D., CPE, FAIHA .

John D. Elias, CIH, ROH, FAIHA; nominated by Alison Reineke, CIH, CRSP, on behalf of the AIHA Manitoba Local Section. 

Peter B. Harnett, M.S., MPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Timothy A. Rice, CIH, on behalf of the AIHA New Jersey Local Section. 

Steven E. Lacey, Ph.D., CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Bradley S. King, Ph.D., MPH, CIH. 

Maharshi P. Mehta, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Richard B. Hirsh, MPH, CIH, on behalf of the International Affairs Committee.

Robert N. Phalen, Ph.D., CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Derek A. Newcomer, CIH, CHMM, CSP, REHS, on behalf of the Protective Clothing and Equipment Committee.

Peter C. Raynor, Ph.D., FAIHA; nominated by Deborah Brown on behalf of the AIHA Upper Midwest Local Section.

David C. Roskelley, MSPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Thomas E. Smith, MPH, CIH, on behalf of the AIHA Utah Local Section. 

Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Michael Larranaga, Ph.D., PE, CIH, CSP, FAIHA.

Mohammed Abbas Virji, Sc.D., CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Dana M. Hollins, CIH, on behalf of the Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Committee.

Lawrence G. Wylie, Ph.D., CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Robert Lieckfield Jr., CIH, FAIHA.

"The AIHA Fellow designation recognizes people who have made significant contributions to AIHA and the profession of industrial hygiene over the course of their careers," said Deborah Nelson, Ph.D., CIH, Fellows Nominating Committee chair. "The 2019 Fellows have demonstrated exemplary leadership and made a significant impact in moving AIHA's mission forward. Being nominated and selected for a Fellow designation is truly an accomplishment that is worth celebrating."

About AIHA®

Founded in 1939, AIHA is a nonprofit organization serving professionals dedicated to the anticipation, recognition, evaluation, control and confirmation of environmental stressors in or arising from the workplace that may result in injury, illness or impairment, or affect the well-being of workers and members of the community. AIHA provides comprehensive education programs and other products and services that help its members maintain the highest professional standards.

More than half of AIHA's nearly 8,500 members are Certified Industrial Hygienists, and many hold other professional designations. AIHA serves as a resource for those employed in the industrial, consulting, academic and government sectors. For more information, please visit