The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) is proud to announce the 2020 recipients of the organization's most prestigious awards. Thomas Cecich, CSP received the BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award. Tricia Kragerer, CSP received the CSP Award of Excellence; Umair Shahab Shahid, CSP, ASP the ASP Award of Excellence; Steven Mercer, CSP, ASP, OHST the OHST Award of Excellence; Jordan Hollingsworth, CSP, CHST the CHST Award of Excellence; and Sondra Lavoie, CHST, STS the STS Award of Excellence.

There were many submissions sent to the BCSP Awards Committee from a multitude of exceptional safety practitioners. After deliberating, these six outstanding recipients received their awards today, January 21, 2021, as part of a virtual awards ceremony.

BCSP is proud of the work of these certificants and enjoys joining with colleagues in sharing appreciation of excellence in safety professionalism by honoring these certificants' leadership, knowledge, expertise, and commitment to the advancement of safety, health, and environmental (SH&E) practice.

Upon receiving his award, Cecich thanked BCSP, the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), those whose safety he has ensured throughout his career, his colleagues in the safety profession, and his wife, Erica Cecich. "There are times when it is very difficult being a safety professional; however, throughout my career, I've always been able to be refreshed by our network of like-minded professionals. I can't personally thank everyone who has helped me achieve this honor, but I can thank you for being a part of a professional body that has helped me achieve much more than I could have individually."

BCSP is proud to recognize these award recipients who contributed a great amount to the SH&E profession. We thank those who submitted nominations, encourage future submissions, and appreciate all efforts to advance safety practice.


Photos and Biographies:

The 2020 Awards of Excellence Recipients

The 2020 BCSP Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient