The American Industrial Hygiene Association is endorsing four of its members as nominees to the OSHA National Advisory Committee on Ergonomics. Nominees are:

  • W. Monroe Keyserling, Ph.D., CSP, CPE, Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
  • Sheree L. Gibson, P.E., CPE, President, Ergonomics Applications, Duncan, SC;
  • David J. Cochran, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE; and
  • Franklin E. Mirer, Ph.D., CIH, Director, Health and Safety Department, United Auto Workers of America, Detroit, MI.

"It is our hope that OSHA will appoint our nominees so that we may begin to address the important issue of ergonomics in the workplace," said AIHA president Gayla McCluskey, CIH, CSP, ROH, QEP. Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao urged AIHA to participate in the process, stating in a letter dated June 7, 2002 "¿#91;AIHA possesses] the type of credentials that would enhance [this group's] stature and effectiveness."

OSHA's national ergo committee will give advice on identifying gaps in existing research on ergonomics and how to apply ergonomic principles to the workplace; current and projected research needs and efforts; methods of providing outreach and assistance that will communicate the value of ergonomics to employers and employees; and ways to increase communication among stakeholders on the issue of ergonomics. The committee will consist of 15 members with selected expertise an/or experience with ergonomics issues.