ASSEThe American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) has announced the the winners of its worldwide annual election of open board of directors’ positions: Patricia M. Ennis, CSP, ARM, of Denver, CO, as senior vice president; Stephanie A. Helgerman, CSP, of Columbus, OH, as vice president-finance; Jefferey C. Camplin, MS, CSP, CPEA, of Mundelein, IL, as vice president – practices and standards; Michael F. Lorenzo, MS, CSP, of Denver, CO, as Region II vice president; Pamela B. Perrich, MPH, CIH, of Pensacola, FL, as Region IV vice president; and, Eric M. Stager, CSP, CIH, of Lincoln, RI, as Region VIII vice president.

ASSE members also elected the following region area directors, a non-board position: Janet A. Gallup, CSP, of Tucson, AZ, for Region II-Area A; Stephen J. Brown, of Jacksonville, FL, for Region IV-Georgia/N. Florida; Gary Braman, CSP, CHCM, CPEA, CSHM, of Hazel Green, AL, as Region IV –Alabama; J. Brett Carruthers, CSP, of Niagara Falls, NY, for Region VIII-Empire State; and, Eric J. Clouthier, of North Hampton, NH, for Region VIII – New England. Each ASSE region represents a cluster of U.S. state and international chapters.

The newly elected board members join ASSE’s President-Elect Richard A. Pollock, CSP, of Plymouth, MN, and ASSE’s Senior Vice President Kathy A. Seabrook, CSP, CMIOSH, of Mendham, NJ, who will succeed to the offices of president and president-elect, respectively, July 1, 2012, on the ASSE board. Also, re-elected to the board is Region VI Vice President Vincent R. Miller, Jr., CSP, of Manassas, VA, who ran unopposed. They will be joined on the board by continuing Vice President of Professional Affairs Thomas F. Cecich, CSP, CIH, of Apex, North Carolina; Region I Vice President Martin P. Jeppeson, CSP, ARM, of Stockton, CA; Region III Vice President G. Alan Brown, CSP, CPEA, or Port Arthur, TX; and, Region V Vice President Maribeth A. Anderson, of Chicago, IL.

Both Ennis and Lorenzo will be sworn in with the other ASSE board members in their home town of Denver on June 3 at the ASSE House of Delegates meeting, part of the June 3-6 ASSE Professional Development Conference (PDC) and Exposition, at the Colorado Convention Center. They begin their new positions July 1.

About Richard A. Pollock

As the chief elected officer, the ASSE president promotes occupational safety, health and the environment (SH&E), the SH&E profession, and represents the 34,000 occupational safety, health and environmental of ASSE members and the Society worldwide. President-Elect Pollock is president of CLMI Safety Training of Minneapolis, MN, and has been an ASSE member for more than 37 years.  He has a degree in safety from the University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, which also honored him with the Distinguished Alumni Award. His professional experience includes working as corporate safety, health and environmental (SH&E) director at Medtronic; as corporate director of safety and risk for Clark Oil and Refining; and, working for companies in the consumer goods, heavy manufacturing and insurance loss control industries. Pollock chaired the 100th anniversary task force and has served as the vice president of the council on professional development, chair of the annual professional development conference, chapter officer, and several committees and practice specialty groups. He is the recipient of the ASSE Charles V. Culbertson volunteer, the President’s and the Northwest Chapter safety professional of the year (SPY) awards.

About Kathy A. Seabrook

Seabrook, CSP, CMIOSH, is president of Global Solutions Inc., a global SH&E management consultancy for multinational companies. A member of ASSE for over 30 years she has a BS in Chemistry.  She served two consecutive terms on the ASSE board of directors as vice president for council on practices and standards and has headed the ASSE Council on Professional Affairs Sustainability Task Force, the Council on Member and Region Global Affairs committee as well as the International Practice Specialty (IPS) and Women in Safety Engineering (WISE) international membership committees.  She is the recipient of ASSE’s International Practice Specialty SPY award, ASSE President’s and Culbertson awards and the British Institution of Occupational Safety and Health’s (IOSH) distinguished service award.  The President-Elect is responsible for strategic planning of the Society and oversees the council vice presidents.
Senior Vice President-elect Ennis is currently serving her second term as the vice president for the council on professional development. She has 22 years of safety management and consulting experience gained after receiving her B.A. from the Evergreen State College in Olympia, WA. She also has an MS from Regis University in Denver. Ennis works as a senior risk control consultant for Willis, North America Inc. in Denver, CO, and has worked in the construction and insurance industries and as director of workplace safety for the Denver Zoological Foundation. She has been honored by her peers over the years receiving the Colorado chapter SPY and the Culbertson awards as well as being selected as one of the top ‘100 Women in Safety Engineering’ (WISE), an ASSE 100th anniversary project . A former Region II vice president, Ennis has led ASSE leadership committees such as the finance, professional development conference, and bylaws committees.   The senior vice president is responsible for regional functions, overseeing chapters, sections and the membership and is in charge of three key committees including those that provide professional development training for members and students.

Complete bios and more information on the elected members and the board of directors can be found at