AIHANominations for 2013 American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) awards must be made by Dec. 1, according to the AIHA Awards Committee. AIHA awards are presented annually at AIHce to individual members or groups who have made significant contributions to the advancement of IH and OEHS.

Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award

This award was founded in 1984 in honor of Edward J. Baier and was sponsored from 1984 through 1990 by the Center for Environmental Studies, Temple University. In 1990, Clayton Environmental, now Bureau Veritas North America, Inc., took over sponsorship of this award. It is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization, or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years.

Prior Winners

Distinguished Service Award

This award was established in 1978 to recognize distinguished service in the advancement of industrial hygiene and to recognize unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. The recipient must be a member of AIHA. The basis for selection includes accomplishments with excellence in any aspect of industrial hygiene.

Prior Winners

Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award

This award was established in 1943 as a tribute to Donald E. Cummings, AIHA’s third president. It is given for outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene. The recipient presents the Cummings Memorial Lecture at AIHce.

Prior Winners

Kusnetz Award

Established in 1987, this award honors a certified hygienist who has not reached his or her fortieth birthday by May 1 of the year in which the award is presented; who is currently employed in the private sector and has been so employed for a majority of his or her professional career; who by exhibiting high ethical standards and technical abilities has provided for the highest standards of health and safety protection for employees for whom he or she is responsible; and who shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. Named for its donors, Florence and Past President Howard Kusnetz, the award is presented each year at the annual conference.

Prior Winners

Alice Hamilton Award

Established in 1993 by the AIHA Board of Directors with the first award granted in 1995, the Alice Hamilton Award shall be presented to an outstanding woman who has made a definitive, lasting achievement in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation, and control of workplace hazards. The awardee shall have been engaged in occupational hygiene or a related discipline a minimum of 10 years and shall be recognized by her peers to be competent in her chosen field, dedicated to scientific truth, and committed to positive change for worker health.

Prior Winners

Social Responsibility Award

Established in 2009, the Social Responsibility Award shall be presented to an individual, entity, group or organization who works inside organizations to develop and promote practical solutions to social responsibility issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety issues. Information regarding the selection criteria is available on the nomination form .

Prior Winners

Yant Award

The Yant Award was established in 1964 to honor the contributions of William P. Yant, the first president of the American Industrial Hygiene Association.  It is presented annually for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields to an individual residing outside the United States.

Prior Winners

AIHA Fellows

The Fellow designation was established to recognize members who have been Full members in good standing for 15 years of continuous membership and have made recognized contributions to industrial hygiene or related disciplines, either through research, leadership, publications, education, or service to AIHA. The Fellow designation is limited to no more than five percent of the membership. Each local section, committee, special interest group, and other formal AIHA entity may nominate, each year, a maximum of two individuals for the AIHA Fellow Award. At-large nominations will also be accepted, with the exception that individuals may not self-nominate. The Awards Committee will evaluate all nominations and make recommendations to the AIHA Board of Directors for final approval.  The deadline for 2013 nominations is December 31, 2012.

List of Fellows

Nominate an AIHA Fellow  (no later than December 31, 2012)

Honorary Members

One other type of recognition given by the American Industrial Hygiene Association is the designation of Honorary Member. The AIHA Board of Directors elects persons for honorary memberships who are particularly distinguished in the general field of industrial hygiene or in a closely related field who have made significant contributions to the industrial hygiene profession.

List of Honorary Members

Nominate someone for an award

Nominate someone as an AIHA Fellow