EHS NewsmakersACGIH® is pleased to announce new members for its 2014 Board of Directors and its 2014 Nominating Committee.

In accordance with a 2013 amendment to the ACGIH® Bylaws, ACGIH®’s membership elected three (3) members to serve as Directors on the Board of Directors. They are: 

Nancy George, MPH, CIH, CSP is Manager, Environmental Health and Safety, at the City and County of San Francisco, where she is responsible for developing and implementing occupational health and safety programs for 25 departments and agencies.  She began her career as an industrial hygienist in the chemical manufacturing business, and has been working in the public sector for over 26 years.  She has been a member of ACGIH® throughout that time.  Ms. George has served her local section of AIHA as a committee chair, Director, and President. Ms. George will serve a three year term.

Alan Rossner, PhD, CIHis Director of Environmental Health Science and Environmental Science & Policy undergraduate programs at Clarkson University.  He is also Associate Director of Clarkson’s Institute for a Sustainable Environment.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Clarkson University, Master of Science degree in Environmental Health from the University of Washington, and PhD in Occupational Health from McGill University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.  Prior to coming to Clarkson University in 1995, he spent 10 years working as an industrial hygienist with Oregon OSHA (2 years), The Boeing Company (5 years) and as an industrial hygiene consultant (3 years) in the Northwest.  Dr. Rossner will serve a three year term.

John S. Morawetz, ScM is the Director of the International Chemical Workers Union Council (ICWUC) Center for Worker Health and Safety Education located in Cincinnati, Ohio. From its formation in 1988 through an NIEHS grant, he has built the Center into a nationally recognized worker training Center funded by four federal grants and operating as a Consortium of seven trade union organizations and the University of Cincinnati. The ICWUC Center annually trains 2,000 participants in Industrial, Hospital and School Chemical Emergency Response and Disaster Preparedness and has an extensive Worker Trainer development program. Dr. Morawetz received his ScM degree from the Harvard School of Public Health in 1983.  Dr. Morawetz was appointed to the Board last year to complete a vacant board term and was elected to serve a three year term in this election.

The 2014 ACGIH®Nominating Committee includes three elected members who will serve a one-year term. They are:

Garrett D. Brown, MPH, CIH. Mr. Brown has worked for the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) for 20 years – 18 years as a compliance officer in the field and the last two years as Special Assistant to the Chief at Headquarters in Oakland. 

Christine A. Hoehn, CIH. Ms. Hoehn is the Industrial Hygiene Program Manager for Praxair Inc. in the U.S. operations bulk atmospheric gas producing sector.  Her experience includes IH consulting in Florida and service as a member of the IH department at the Nevada Test Site.

Stephen J. Reynolds, PhD, CIH. Dr. Reynolds is a Professor in the Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences, Colorado State University.  He is also a faculty member in the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health of the Colorado School of Public Health and a former Chair of ACGIH®.

These three elected members will be joined by the three Board Members whose terms expired in 2013 – Bill R. McArthur, PhD, CIH, Heather D. Borman, MS, CIH, CSP, and John S. Morawetz, ScM – to make up the six member 2014 Nominating Committee.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health and is one of the industry’s leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the TLVs® and BEIs®. - 513-742-2020.