Manufacturers, machine builders (OEMs) or system integrators who are proud of their company’s safety achievements can nominate themselves for the fourth annual Manufacturing Safety Excellence Awards by Rockwell Automation Inc.

The winners will be chosen on the basis of a true commitment to safety across three key pillars of a comprehensive safety program: a strong safety culture, well-executed compliance procedures, and effective use of current, machine-safety technology.

The awards also recognize companies that have successful collaboration between their engineering and EHS departments, which helps reduce injury rates while also improving production efficiency.

Going beyond compliance

Last year’s winners were The Clorox Company, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, Kimberly-Clark Corporation and Paper Converting Machine Company (PCMC). Rockwell Automation safety market development manager Mark Eitzman said the three “go beyond compliance and make safety an integral part of the company culture and machine design processes – improving plant productivity and company profitability.”

PCMC’s Jason Stover said winning the award highlighted his team’s commitment to improving machine safety for their customers.

“As an OEM, we differentiate ourselves from competitors by guiding our customers through the safety process and educating them on the opportunities safety presents,” Stover said. “Some might not recognize safety as a fundamental part of equipment, but by the time we’re done, they see the value.” 

Collaboration is the key

“We achieve success with everyone in the organization working and learning together, including engineering, EHS and operations,” said Dennis G. Averill, CIH, CSP, global director of safety and hygiene, Kimberly-Clark. “This collaboration is not only done conceptually, but also during the actual execution of risk assessments, safety standards development and more.”

To nominate a company, complete the entry form and email it to with “Safety Excellence Awards Nomination” in the subject line or mail it to the following address: Rockwell Automation, Attn: Steve Ludwig – Safety Excellence Awards, 1 Allen Bradley Drive, Mayfield Heights, OH 44124. The deadline for nominations is Aug. 31, 2016. 

The 2016 winners will be announced in the fall.

About Rockwell Automation

Rockwell Automation Inc. (NYSE: ROK), the world’s largest company dedicated to industrial automation and information, makes its customers more productive and the world more sustainable. Headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., Rockwell Automation employs approximately 22,000 people serving customers in more than 80 countries.