The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) has introduced the FASSP designation for Society Fellows. Used after an individual’s name, FASSP is a recognizable way to identify recipients of the Society’s highest honor. The announcement was made by ASSP President Rixio Medina, CSP, CPP, FASSP, during Sunday night’s Past Presidents and Fellows Reception at the Safety 2019 Professional Development Conference and Exhibition.

ASSP Fellows have made significant contributions to the occupational safety and health profession. The distinct group of forward-thinking experts provide industry leadership while promoting a culture of engagement.

“ASSP Fellows are the heart of our profession and deserve to be recognized for their dedicated work to advance occupational safety and health performance as well as the profession itself,” Medina said. “Their career achievements in preventing workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities are an inspiration.”

ASSP’s newest Fellows honored Monday at Safety 2019 are Earl Blair, associate professor in the department of safety and security at Eastern Kentucky University; Richard Nugent, safety, health and environmental manager for Bechtel Corporation; James Ramsay, professor of security studies and chair of the department of business, politics and security studies at the University of New Hampshire; and Treasa Turnbeaugh, chief executive officer at the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.

The honor of Fellow recognizes an ASSP member’s lifetime commitment to worker safety and health. Nominees must have a history of significant service to the Society as well as 15 years of major contributions to the occupational safety and health profession. Individuals are approved as Fellows by the ASSP Board of Directors after a recommendation by the Society’s Technical and Professional Recognition Committee.

To see the Society’s list of Fellows dating back more than 50 years, visit ASSP Fellow recipients.