Mike Kalbaugh, EHS Manager for Avery Dennison, has won the 2003 Safety Professional of the Year Award, underwritten by the Internet safety management tool KellerOnline®, Neenah, Wisc.

Kalbaugh was selected by a panel of judges over 150 other finalists as having the most results-driven process for managing safety.

One of his achievements: improvements in the safety record at facilities he managed in Cleveland. Two plants went more than a year without a recordable injury; and one received a corporate award for safety.

First prize for Kalbaugh includes an all expense paid trip to J.J. Keller & Associates headquarters in Neenah, Wisc. He will be honored during a special ceremony and presented with a $2,500 check, a plaque and a certificate for a complimentary subscription to KellerOnline for himself and his staff.

Bob Sagendorf of Schoonover Electric in Mountainside, N.J., and Mike Cobb of Landstar System, Inc. in Jacksonville, Fla., were awarded first and second runner-up, respectively.