The Voluntary Protection Programs Participants’ Association, Inc. (VPPPA) honored the winners of the VPPPA Annual Awards during the Opening General Session of the 25th Annual National VPPPA Conference in San Antonio, Texas, according to an organization press release.

The three award winners were recognized by their peers for supporting VPPPA’s mission and their exemplary outreach, innovation and achievement in enhancing worker safety. Annual awards are presented in the following three categories: Voluntary Protection Programs (VPP) Outreach, Safety and Health Outreach Award and VPP Innovation.

TheVPP Outreach Awardis given to either individuals or worksites who act as “VPP Ambassadors,” achieving an outstanding level of outreach activity and encouraging others to share their knowledge of VPP. The winner of this year’s VPP Outreach Award isMarathon Petroleum Company, LLC, in Robinson, Ill. This site went above and beyond in promoting the benefits of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s (OSHA) VPP.

TheSafety and Health Outreach Awardrecognizes individuals or sites who reach out to share the safety, health, technical and management expertise developed at their sites.Rudy Lopez, a risk manager atCountry Line Framing in Calimesa, Calif.,received this year’s Safety and Health Outreach Award for his extensive outreach in the residential home building communities in Southern California.

TheVPP Innovation Award, which recognizes an individual, company or worksite that has developed and successfully implemented an innovation, encouraged others to try new approaches and emphasized the value of creativity and flexibility in the resolution of worker safety and health problems, was presented toGE Water and Process Technologies, Mobile Water in Saint Peters, Mo.

The VPPPA National Board of Directors applauds the efforts of the 2009 award winners.

The VPPPA is currently taking submissions for the 2010 Annual Awards, which will be presented at the 26th Annual National VPPPA Conference in Orlando, Fla. The submission deadline for all awards is May 3, 2010. Applicants for the VPPPA Annual Awards must be association members in good standing.