Members of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) have elected three new Board of Directors officers and four new Board members.

Beginning terms this month are new officers Carl Heinlein, CSP, OHST, ARM, CSHM as President; Rixio Medina, CSP, CPP, CMIOSH, STS as Vice President; and David West, CSP, P.E., CHMM as Treasurer.

Carl Heinlein Rixio Medina David West
Carl Heinlein Rixio Medina David West

The new Board members are: Mark Friend, Ed.D, CSP; Daniel Fuqua, CSP; J. Terrence Grisim, CSP, CDS, CPSM, ARM; and Bruce Guiliani, CSP, CET, CIT.
Board President Carl Heinlein is a Senior Safety Consultant with American Contractors Insurance Group. Heinlein holds a Master's degree in Safety & Environmental Management from West Virginia University and holds the CSP as well as a number of other safety certifications. He sits on the advisory board for EHS Today, as well as the West Virginia University's Safety and Environmental Management Graduate Program Advisory Board. He is an active member of the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), American Industrial Hygiene Association, Associated General Contractors of America, National Safety Management Society and the National Safety Counci. Heinlein achieved his OHST in 1996 and his CSP in 1997.
Vice President Rixio Medina is General Partner of Rixio Medina and Associates, L.P. He is a safety representative on the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH). A Distinguished Alumni of Oklahoma State University, he sits on the Advisory Board of the School of Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology. Medina is a member of the National Safety Council, the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health and the American Society of Safety Engineers. He has been a CSP since 1991 and achieved the STS certification last year.
Treasurer David West is a Vice President and Deputy Operation Manager with Science Applications International Corporation. He also serves as Chairman of the TechAmerica (formerly GEIA) G-48 System Safety Committee, where he worked as part of a select G-48 working group that prepared and published an ANSI-approved standard for best practices in System Safety. Recognized for his expertise in system safety, West is active as a Fellow Member of the System Safety Society. He has held the CSP since 1993.

The 2012 BCSP Board of Directors includes: Margaret Carroll, CSP (Past President); Rick Cook, CSP, CHST; Jack H. Dobson, Jr., CSP; Don Eshelby, Ed.D, (Public Director); Lon Ferguson, Ed.D. CSP; Mark Friend, CSP; Daniel Fuqua, CSP; James A. Gentry (Public Director); J. Terrence Grisim, CSP; Bruce Guiliani, CSP, CET, CIT; Carl Heinlein, CSP, OHST (President); John E. Hodges, CSP; Ed Jones, CSP; Rixio Medina, CSP, STS (Vice President); Cece M. Weldon, CSP, STS; and David West, CSP (Treasurer); Thomas L. Adams, LHD, CAE, Secretary and Executive Director.
About BCSP

BCSP is recognized as the leader in high-quality credentialing for safety, health, and environmental practitioners. BCSP establishes standards for and verifies competency in professional safety practice and evaluates certificants for compliance with recertification requirements. BCSP also operates paraprofessional SH&E certifications that provide additional career paths for safety practitioners. Since 1969, over 30,000 individuals have achieved the CSP, OHST, CHST, or STS credential. Currently, over 12,000 hold the CSP and 7,500 retain a paraprofessional credential. BCSP is an accredited, non-profit corporation chartered in Illinois, with headquarters in Champaign.