ASSE FoundationTo honor the memory of those who lost their lives in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in New York, Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C., and to support students studying occupational safety and health, the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) Foundation announced the recipients of the ‘America Responds Memorial Scholarship’ and the ‘Harry Taback 9/11 Memorial Scholarship.’

On September 14, 2001, the ASSE Foundation set up the ‘America Responds Memorial Scholarship’ to award a $1,000 scholarship each year to an undergraduate student pursuing a degree in occupational safety and health or a closely related field. The ASSE New York City Chapter alone donated $10,000 to this fund, which also received donations from members, non-members, chapters and corporations from around the world. The Foundation recently announced that the 2012 recipient of the ‘America Responds Memorial Scholarship’ is Charles Frey who is studying Fire Protection & Safety Technology at Oklahoma State University.

Many ASSE members, safety professionals involved in WTC clean up

Frank Disori, the first ‘America Responds’ scholarship recipient said in 2003 when he received his award, “This is a real honor for me because until I saw the presentation about 9/11 and the World Trade Center clean up at ASSE’s professional development conference in 2002, I was unaware of the large number of ASSE members, safety professionals who were on-site and involved in the massive rescue and clean-up efforts. I take this as a major compliment.” Disori studied at Millersville University in Millersville, PA.

‘America Responds’ scholarship past winners include: 2011—Wade Baily,  Indiana University of PA; 2010 – Bethany Holyoak, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, SD; 2009 – Benjamin Jon Mollman, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; 2008- Ryan Kiley, Millersville University; 2007 – Jacqueline Harvey, Slippery Rock University, PA; 2006 – Nicholas Anthony Borsa, Indiana University of PA; 2005 – Christopher Skipper, Millersville University; and, 2004 – Eric Kerns, Marshall University, WV.

Donation made in honor of ASSE member who died in Twin Towers on 9/11

Additionally, in honor of their father Harry Taback, an ASSE member who died while at work in the Twin Towers on September 11, 2001, Cheryl, Lori and Tracy Taback donated $23,000 to the ASSE Foundation to create the ‘Harry Taback 9/11 Memorial Scholarship Fund’ to support students pursuing a degree in occupational safety and health. Taback, an executive vice president of risk control strategy and managing regional director for Marsh and McLennan, was a staunch supporter of the ASSE Foundation, helping establish one of its first corporate scholarships through Marsh.

The 2012 recipient of the ‘Harry Taback 9/11 Memorial Scholarship’ is Shane Ferguson who is studying Safety Sciences at Indiana University of PA. Scott Merrell, who attended Millersville University, received the first ‘Harry Taback 9/11 Memorial Scholarship’ in 2006 followed by: 2007 – Julie Pendergrass, Millersville University; 2008 – Megan Karie, Oakland University, MI; 2009 – Patrick T. Karl, Slippery Rock University; 2010 – Tyler Bean, Slippery Rock University; and, 2011 – Julie Barbaro, Oakland University.

How to apply for scholarships

For those interested in applying for scholarships and professional education grants, the ASSE Foundation’s new electronic application system will be open in late September allowing students to apply directly on-line. The full list of scholarships and grants along with the applications can be found at

The American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation (ASSEF), established by and in partnership with the American Society of Safety Engineers, generates funding and provides resources for scholarship, applied research, academic accreditation, and related academic initiatives in order to advance the safety, health, and environmental profession. For more information on the Foundation and its programs visit