Nevada becomes 34th state to ban texting while driving (6/22)
June 22, 2011
Nevada Governor Brian Sandoval has signed a tough new law that prohibits talking or texting on a cell phone while behind the wheel. The state is just the ninth to ban all hand-held cell phone use while driving.
The new Nevada law makes it illegal to text or talk on a hand-held cell phone while driving. Under the new law, violators face a fine of up to $100 for the first offense; up to $200 for the second offense; and up to $250 for the third offense. In addition, third-time offenders can also have their driver licenses suspended. The law is due to become effective on January 1, 2012 but law enforcement officers can begin issuing warnings on October 1.
With the addition of Nevada, 34 states, the District of Columbia, and Guam have now banned text messaging by all drivers. Nine states, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands have prohibited all hand-held cell phone use while driving.