NSCSource: National Safety Council press release

The National Safety Council is proud to announce that Jeff Woodbury, vice president, safety, security, health and environment for Exxon Mobil Corporation, has been elected chairman of the National Safety Council Board of Directors.

Woodbury succeeds Kent McElhattan, chairman and co-founder of Industrial Scientific, to the position. “Kent was an impactful leader who helped NSC reach new heights as we pushed forward on our strategy to save an additional 10,000 lives and prevent 1 million injuries by 2014,” said Janet Froetscher, NSC president and CEO. “The effects of his contributions will no doubt be felt for years to come.”

“At the same time, NSC looks forward to the leadership and perspective Jeff has to offer,” said Froetscher. “As a member of the Board of Directors, Jeff has already provided great counsel and support to NSC. His experience and leadership will be crucial in setting and delivering on the Council’s next five-year strategy.”

“ExxonMobil has partnered with NSC since the Council’s inception more than a century ago,” Woodbury said. “I am pleased to serve in this leadership position and to support NSC in its efforts to make a significant impact on saving lives and preventing injuries.” Woodbury has been a member of the Board of Directors since October 2011.

Also elected to Board of Directors and beginning two-year terms are:

  • Chuck Clairmont, executive director and CEO of the North Dakota Safety Council
  • David Kepler, executive vice president, business services, chief sustainability officer and chief information officer for The Dow Chemical Company
  • Mark Manion, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • Robert Skaggs, president and CEO of NiSource

The NSC Board of Directors is the principal governing body of the Council, overseeing strategic and financial affairs.